“Soccer Season” by Jerison Castillo, ’15

When I first began playing sports, I was really excited to go out and play. The sport I was going to try for was soccer, a sport that I’ve never actually played before. Try-outs first began in August, before school even started. Since I was a freshman, I didn’t know anyone on the team. It didn’t matter to me. I was ready to start fresh. I wanted to play a sport on an actual team, meet new people and make new friends.

The first day at practice was great, we had a lot of fun. I was still getting to know people and learn the names of other players. Our first game came and coach was picking the players positions. He started calling names, and after a bit I felt like I wasn’t going to play that game. He looked me straight in the eye and said, “Jerison, you’re going to be center defense.” I was shocked. I didn’t think I would start! Our first game went well. We worked hard and would have won, but they caught us off-guard and scored a goal in the last minute of regulation to tie the score at 1-1.

Throughout the season, we all connected as players, friends, and family. We worked hard each game and learned to how to be a team. In one game in particular, we played a terrible first half. Coach talked to us about it and we all came together in the second half to tie the game. Coach was very proud of us that day as we got ourselves together and played a great game.

We made it to the playoffs this season. It was the first time in years that the school made it to the playoffs. We lost the first round and we were all devastated. Coach said to us, “Why are you guys so sad? Yes, we lost. But we played a very good and close game, you guys should be proud we made it this far.” We ended the season with a record of 6 wins, 5 ties and 3 losses. Next year is a new improved team and we are ready to be called state champs.

This entry was posted in Student Post and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

