Freshmen Reflection

Yesterday, one of our teachers, Annemarie Grimaldi, asked her students at the beginning of class to reflect on what they have learned about themselves this year. Annemarie wrote in her email: “Sometimes it feels like no progress is made because we see the day-to-day struggles. These responses remind me that good work is being done, and this is a worthy mission we have all committed to.”

There are just five weeks left in the school year, and Annemarie’s words really resonated around the building. Here’s what some of our 9th graders had to say about their first year at Cristo Rey Boston High School:

What I’ve learned about myself this year is that I can produce amazing work if I try.

I’ve learned never to start a sentence with a quote, or to use “I” in an essay.

I’ve learned sometimes you have to deal with people that are so different from you in order to keep going.

I’ve learned I can pass my tests and my essay proficiency on the first try.

I’ve learned that I am a hard, persistent worker.

I’ve learned that if I apply myself I can achieve anything.

I am hardworking and responsible (when I want to be). I am reliable and respectful (mostly everyday)!

I learned that I am the owner of my own education.

I learned that I am capable of completing tasks when I put in my best effort.

The most important thing I have learned this year about myself is that I am able to stay focused, get good grades, and be able to learn from my mistakes.

I’ve learned once I fall behind, it’s hard for me to catch up.

I learned not to be shy when it comes to doing new things.

I’ve learned that I talk too much, and I need to worry about myself more.

I’ve learned that I am resilient, but I can slack off.

I’ve learned that I am a person that doesn’t adjust quickly, but I am a person that grows as I go on.

I’ve learned with a little push I can get a lot of work done.

I’ve learned that I need to not have a fixed mindset and not get caught up in the distractions around me.

I’ve learned that when I try I also improve. Motivation makes me work hard and keep going.

I’ve learned how to check over my work, and figure out how to identify more complicated mistakes.

I’ve learned I am quiet most of the time.

The most important thing I learned is pain is temporary and the reward will always come some way in the end. It just takes hard work. And the more work you put in, the more success you get.

 

This entry was posted in President Post. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

